Word of the Day: Logophile

lovewordsI have a slight confession. As geeky as this will sound, I have always been infatuated with strange, unique and beautiful words. So I have decided that when I don’t have any fun stories to blog about I will instead chose a word and write a little something about it. Today I chose logophile for the obvious reason that I have found that I am one. I feel that now a days we tend to all use the same vocabulary. Which is a shame because there are so many lovely words that go unused. There is approximately 1,025,109.8 words in the english language according to the global language monitor. (I’m not going to lie the .8 still confuses me) Growing up, I always got compliments on how I have a very nice vocabulary. I have my love of reading and words to thank for that. I believe others should do the same because I hate when trying to explain myself or how I feel and not being able to find the correct words that correspond. For example, that is called Alexithymia (n) difficulty in experiencing, expressing, and describing emotional responses in a verbal manner. You see knowledge is something you can always be gained and can never be taken away from you. So I encourage you to take a small step and start with one word at a time. 

Leave a Reply

