The Catch 22 Election

I remember sitting in class in elementary school as I watched Barack Obama swear into office. My teacher kept stressing us on how important the day was and that it would be a day we will never forget. Little did I know she was right. Today is the day where America gets to vote on who the 45th President will be. For 8 years of my life I’ve watched Obama be President. Somethings that he did I strongly agreed with and other things confused me. One thing I can truly say is that I always had the upmost faith in him. I trusted him to make the right decision, to make the free world a better place. From being that 10 year old girl with wide eyes watching him being him become president on TV, to today when I keeps watch on the status of the 2016 election with fear in my eyes. I wish we could bend the rules and have him serve a third term but I’m afraid that is something that can’t be done.
Today, Hilary Clinton is running for the democrats and Donald Trump is running for the republicans. Never in my life did I think it would come down to this. This decision is hard because there is no right answer. This is a catch 22 election. Some people say it’s like choosing between aids and cancer. The only good thing I can find to say is that lets hope that in four years someone else will win. The United States is in need of prayer. Now more than ever. I am very fearful but I know that God has a plan for everything.

UPDATE: Donald Trump won.
I’m scared. As a part of the LGBTQ+ I am terrified.

Leave a Reply

