Open Eyes

Closed Eyes
Today was one of those days where you wake up and debate with yourself on whether or not you should even get out of bed or just say, “screw it” and stay. Once I worked through my battle with my conscience, I got up. I started getting ready for the day because I had plans to go to church with my older sister Kayla. We made sure to get to church early so we had time to get coffee before. Once I really got to talking with my sister I realized how much I had missed her. While we were talking her boyfriend Chase found us and joined in on the conversation. Then we realized what time it was and hurried to find a seat. The moment the preacher started his sermon I instantly realized that I was so glad that I came instead of staying in bed. I felt that I needed to be there. One of the things that the pastor talked about was God opening our eyes, enlightening us, so we may see His work. This hit home for me. In that moment I realized that I needed to do exactly that.
Open Eyes
I needed to realize that God is working in my life and I wasn’t noticing it. I wanted that job so very badly that I was blind to the fact that maybe God didn’t. All of my life I had been told that God answers prayers. They just may not be the answer we want. It might be a yes, it might be a no and even sometimes the answer is not right now. Maybe that job wasn’t the right place for me, maybe He needs to place me somewhere else. So today I applied at a few other places and I’m just hoping that maybe one of those places is where God wants me to be. Yes, I have plans as to what I want my life to be like but I need to trust that God’s plan is better.

Leave a Reply

